The 6th Assembly of Jaman North District Inaugurated

As part of putting governance structures in place to meet the government decentralization drive as well as some constitutional provisions, inaugural ceremonies were held across the country in various MMDAs. This was a continuation of the process of instituting a new assembly in the aftermath of successful District assembly elections held in various electoral areas by the Electoral Commission. The Jaman North District Assembly in fulfilment of its constitutional mandate also held its inaugural ceremony at the Assembly’s training centre to usher in the newly constituted assembly. In all Thirty-Nine Assembly members made up of both elected and government appointees were sworn into office. The magistrate of the District court Sampa who presided over the swearing-in on behalf of the Chief Justice led the participants into taking the of Oaths of secrecy, allegiance and oath office and  charged them to abide by all the provisions as stipulated in their oaths.

The Magistrate leading members into taking the various oaths

Representing the president of the Republic of Ghana H.E Nana Addo Danquah Akuffo Addo at the ceremony was the Bono Regional Minister Hon. Justina Owusu Banahene. Delivering the president’s inaugural address, she charged all the assembly members to eschew partisan stands in serving their people through collaboration with the assembly to extend development to their electoral areas. She also seized the opportunity to congratulate the members for their success in the elections.

The District Chief Executive Hon. Solomon Owusu who delivered the welcome address charged members of the newly constituted Assembly to put the welfare of their community members at heart through peaceful collaboration and coexistence with the Assembly to drive home the needed developmental initiatives of the assembly. He pledged his support for the Assembly members in their core mandates.

Present at the short but colourful ceremony was the District Coordinating Director Mr. Alfred Cyril Lumor, Former and present MPs for the constituency Hon. Siaka Stevens and Hon. Fredrick Ahenkora respectively, the parliamentary candidate for the governing NPP Hon. Enock Nyarko, former Presiding member, Religious leaders and Units and Departmental Heads.

Two attempts were made in the bid to elect a member to preside over the assembly but all proved futile. The meeting was therefore adjourned to a later date

Dignitaries present at the function

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *