About Jaman North District Assembly


The Jaman North District is one of the Twelve (12) Administrative Districts of the Bono Region of Ghana. It was created in 2004 by Legislative Instrument (LI) 1779 of 2004.

It is located between latitude 7’40” N and 8’27″N and latitude 72’30” W and 2’60” W. The District is located on the Western part of the Bono Region and to the North Western fringes of the neighbouring Cote D’Ivoire. It shares boundaries with Tain District to the North through to the Eastern of the District, Jaman South District to the South West and Berekum Municipal to the South East.

The District has one constituency known as Jaman North Constituency with Sampa as the District Capital. Other major towns in the District are Suma-Ahenkro, Duadaso No. 1, Duadaso No.2, Goka, Asiri and Jankufa. The District has seven (7) Town/Area Councils namely; Sampa, Suma, Kwatwoma, Asiri/Jankufa, Goka, Nafana East and Nafana West. The district has a land size of about 640 square kilometers. Sampa, the District Capital is located about 119 kilometers from Sunyani, the regional capital of Bono Region is 540 kilometers to Accra, the national capital.


The Assembly exists to create wealth and development through the effective and efficient mobilization, management and utilization of human, material and natural resources.


To reduce Rural and Urban poverty through the provision of qualitative and quantitative infrastructure geared toward improving standard of living of the people.



The Jaman North District It is located between latitude 70 40’ N and 80 27’N, and longitude 20 30’W and 20 60’W. The district is located in the western part of the Bono Region and to the north western fringes of the neighboring Ivory Coast country. It borders Tain District to the north through to the eastern part of the district, Jaman South Municipal District to the southwest and Berekum Municipal District to the southeast. The location of the district along the Ghana and Ivory Coast border presents economic potentials and opportunities that can be maximized to improve the lives of the citizenry.



According to the 2021 population and Housing Census, the population of the Jaman North District was 117,909 with respective, male and female population of 58,623 (49.72%) and 59,286 (50.28%). Urban population 70,188 (59.52%) of the population of the District are living in the urban areas of the District with a considerable number of Rural population of 47,721 (40.47%) in the rural areas. 

The District has a significant number of its population being children and the youth who are mostly dependents as they are too young to be working or learning a trade. The dependency ratio for the District is 83.56 per 100 working population as compared to the Regional age dependency ratio of 81.33 percent.


The District has a total road network of about 330 kilometers made up of 265 kilometres of feeder roads and 65 kilometers of highways. The highways are Sampa to Drobo road, Duadaso road and Sampa to Jinini road with the rest of the roads being feeder roads. The District has a very good road network but the nature of it, is very poor, making transportation very uncomfortable, time consuming and costly.

The District Assembly occasionally does reshaping of the Feeder Roads using its grader.


The functions of the Jaman North District Assembly are derived from statute, as enshrined in chapter 20 of the 1992 Republican Constitution, Local Governance Act, Act 936 of 2016 and the Legislative Instrument (L.I. 1779) which created the Assembly.

The functions of the District Assembly which are broadly aimed at attaining its objectives and fulfilling its mission of improving the quality of life of its people mandates the Assembly to be responsible for;

  1. Ensuring the preparation and submission of Development Plans and Budgets of the District through the Regional Coordinating council, to the National Development Commission and the Ministry of Finance respectively for approval.
  2. Formulation and execution of plans, programmes and strategies for the effective
  3. Promotion and support of productive activities and social development in the District
  4. Initiating programmes for the development of basic infrastructure and provides works and services in the District.
  5. Developing, improving and managing human settlements and the environment in the District.
  6. Initiating, sponsoring or carrying out such studies as may be necessary for the discharge of any of the functions conferred on the Assembly by any other enactment 
  7. The Assembly equally performs such other functions as may be provided under any other enactment.

composition of the assembly

The organogram of the Assembly provides a three-tier system namely; the Assembly, Town/Area Councils and Unit Committees. The Assembly is composed of Thirty-Nine (39) members of which Twenty-Seven (27) are elected and Twelve (12) are government appointees.

The Assembly has the following statutory committees

  1. Executive Committee
  2. Public Relations and Complaints Committee

The statutory subcommittees are;

  1. Justice and Security
  2. Finance and Administration
  3. Development Planning
  4. Social Services)
  5. Works

Other sub committees include;

  1. Small and medium scale
  2. Agric

List of Departments of the Assembly is as follows;

  1. Central Administration Department
  2. Physical Planning Department
  3. Department of Social Welfare & Community DeveIopment
  4. Natural Resources Conservation Department
  5. Department of Agriculture
  6. Information Service Department
  7. Works Department
  8. Department of Education, Youth and Sports
  9. Disaster Prevention and Management Department
  10. District Health Department
  11. Trade, Industry and Tourism Department


The Assembly has the following Sub-Structures:

  • Sampa Town Council.
  • Nafana East Area Council.
  • Nafana West Area Council.
  • Kwatwoma Area Council
  • Suma Area Council
  • Asiri Area Council
  • Goka Area Council